Love the great outdoors

You know, the more you dabble in online dating, the more you realise how delusional the unattached men out there are. I remember the standard ‘dating’ claim used to be ‘loves candlelit dinners and romantic walks on the beach’. We all knew they were cliches and we didn’t care.

Today, every profile you read that has been penned by a man seeking love, claims to have a love of the great outdoors, camping, tramping and fishing. What is wrong with this, you ask? Nothing…if it were true. When you get in contact, you find that the only outdoors many of them experience is the gap between the front door and the garage. And the camping they claim to live for is a hankering for the family holidays they remember as a boy.

Does this make me sound cynical? I’m not, really. I actually find it amusing. I think I should change my profile to read ‘loves rock concerts’ – I have seen Chris de Burgh live. Once.

About writing2guru

I am an English teacher, a mother, a sister, a friend. And, occasionally, a writer.
This entry was posted in The single life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Love the great outdoors

  1. Cindy says:

    “Where have all the cowboys gone?” HAHA

Leave a comment