Feeding the fishes

No, this is not another blog about looking after my neighbour’s goldfish. This one is about Why Would Anyone Choose To Go FISHING? I mean seriously, what was I thinking? I was the kid who ate too many lollies at friends’ parties and threw up. I was the kid who had to get off merry-go-rounds for the same reason. I am now an adult who can’t be a passenger in a car going through hills, or who can’t do 3D rides at theme parks. And I chose to go out on a fishing boat for 9 hours…

I did say I was doing this for the experience. Some experiences do not need to be repeated. Obviously hanging over the edge of the boat feeding the fishes was one I enjoyed because I repeated it. Twice. I must have looked gorgeous – trying to wipe away vomit drool from my bottom lip with one hand, while clinging onto the side of a rocking boat with the other. Tears, snot, the works. And to make matters worse…remember when I said I could not trust my bladder when I sneeze or cough? I can now add projectile vomiting to the list!

It wasn’t all bad though. I spent a number of hours actually feeding the fishes. I would feel a tug on the line, reel it in and find…the bait eaten off. Canny wee blighters! I did manage to catch two of adequate size to warrant not throwing back. I was also the first person on board to catch anything (no, I wasn’t the only one fishing!). Unfortunately, it was too small. It was unhooked and thrown back. But it wouldn’t go back under. It flapped a bit and I was told it would take a while but that it would eventually dive back under. I felt really bad for the poor little snapper. I was talking to it, telling it to go and live a full life. A seagull had a different idea…goldfish-30837_960_720

About writing2guru

I am in the process of becoming an author. Or maybe I have always been one, but just hidden it behind the facade of an English teacher.
This entry was posted in Life in general, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

