An assortment of people

I went to the mall today and I sat at a table in the middle of the mall and worked on my novel. Naturally, as I sat at that table I watched an assortment of people going past. When I was a child we used to get a selection of biscuits called ‘Choice Assorted.’ We used to fight over who would get the one foil-wrapped chocolate biscuit. This was a different kind of assortment.Různé_druhy_cukroví_(2)

Manukau Mall is a melting pot of cultures. And there is definitely more than one chocolate biscuit.

A girl of about 11 sauntered past with her hoodie up. Many of the people committing crimes in my neck of the woods wear hoodies so they can’t be identified. I was wondering whether this was her intention, when her father joined her. He was also wearing a hoodie. Either knocking over dairies is a family business, or they were simply keeping their heads warm. Who can tell.

Being the school holidays, I was bound to see some of my students. Some walked straight past. Maybe they didn’t see me. Others looked in my direction but I stared straight ahead. Maybe I didn’t see them. Who can tell.

Two young girls carrying balloons were weaving between shoppers going the other way. A little kid dropped his McDonald’s ‘minion’ toy and went scurrying after it, ignoring the legs trying to dodge his little body. Two boys on the bench next to me were having sword fights with packets of sugar. None of the kids carried the same stress as the adults. Or the same angst as me, the writer, trying to get the words just right. Could be that they have the right idea.

Who can tell.

About writing2guru

I am in the process of becoming an author. Or maybe I have always been one, but just hidden it behind the facade of an English teacher.
This entry was posted in Life in general, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

