How to live deliberately

Point number 1: Dive fully into everything you do. Don’t just dip your toe into the waters of experience; feel the rush of the tide. Come up for air. Shake yourself and watch the drops fly. Yahoo loudly.

Point number 2: Take the chances. The ones that scare you. The ones that excite you. You will come out a different person on the other side.

Point number 3: Make time to appreciate the things around you. Notice the sunset. Seek out the rainbow. Observe the little ants with their tiny feelers and itty-bitty legs and nasty pinchy faces that attach themselves to your foot if you stand still long enough.

Point number 4: Don’t just say ‘I love you’. Take time to show your feelings. My second ex-husband always brought me flowers before we got married, saying, ‘A gentleman always brings a lady flowers.’ He never gave me flowers again after we got married. He said he didn’t go past the flower seller anymore. I guess I wasn’t a lady anymore… Don’t do things just because they are easy. Do them because they matter.

Be bold. Be brave. Be deliberate.

About writing2guru

I am an English teacher, a mother, a sister, a friend. And, occasionally, a writer.
This entry was posted in dating, Life in general and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to How to live deliberately

  1. bobfromspace says:

    so right! points 1-3 = surfing 😀 (for me at least)

Leave a comment