Broken, not finished

This year I will be 60. And I will complete my 30th year of teaching. Let me start with that. This blog is not about me crying into my softened corn flakes as impending retirement looms. But rather about what I plan to do before that happens. It will not be peppered with my usual humour; there will be time for that.

On Christmas day a powerful tornado ripped through sections of the Gold Coast, knocking out power, destroying houses, and snapping giant trees like they were twigs. Instead of removing the broken trees completely, some were left as stumps. I have noticed recently how new growth has started on a number of these. It’s like they are saying, ‘We may be broken, but we’re not finished.’ And there begins my message.

I am tired of being treated like a second-class citizen. Teaching is not the problem – I have always been a passionate educator. Teenagers are not even the problem – well, maybe a bit. The problem is the parents. I am tired of people who are less qualified than me making me feel like I am not good enough. Parents who do their child’s work for them so the child gets a higher grade than they deserve and does not actually know their limitations. Parents who complain about the way I teach because their child did not get the grade they wanted. Parents who try and attract other parents to their sad, closed-minded soapbox to lessen my value because they feel worthless. And the constant Damocles sword of parent complaints, where their word is taken over that of a teacher and your job is on the line.

And society in general wonders why teachers are leaving the profession. Including me. This will be my last year of teaching. I have plans for next year. I will once again take a leap of faith in my life, believing that God has plans for me to prosper and not to fail.

Half my life being the best teacher I can be. I think it’s time to look after me.

About writing2guru

I am an English teacher, a mother, a sister, a friend. And, occasionally, a writer.
This entry was posted in getting older, Life in general, religion, teaching and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment