I am the creator

I am almost halfway through writing my novel and I am loving writing it. The thing I love the most is being God. I can create the world as I want it to be20170422_181831.jpg

If I want a world turned upside down where one man comes in and saves the day, I can create that. If I want a world that is perfect, one in which cancer or heartache do not exist, I can create it.

If I want to make a magical world in which children simply have to wish upon a star to make marshmallows grow on trees, or utter magic words to make a kitten talk, or fly on a suitcase and sit on a cloud, I have the power to do it.

If I want to create a superpower country where a megalomaniac with business acumen, bad hair and bugger all knowledge of politics is the president, I can do that. Although I would not write something that far-fetched.

If I would like there to be a cafe with a pianist in the corner and a display of fudges and specialty iced cupcakes, with comfortable chairs and broderie anglaise tablecloths, with well-spoken waiters who make you feel they came to work just for you, with a ‘no children allowed’ policy so as not to disturb the serenity, and without a hefty price tag, with a stroke of the pen it is done.

And if I want to create a character in her fifties who is looking for meaning in her life, who feels unsure about her future, and who has experienced disappointments. And if I want that character to meet a man who knows exactly when to talk to her, when to touch her and when to leave her alone, and who makes her feel as though she truly matters, then all I have to do is open up my laptop.

 

About writing2guru

I am an English teacher, a mother, a sister, a friend. And, occasionally, a writer.
This entry was posted in The single life, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I am the creator

  1. Ares . Three says:

    Reading your post, seeing your spontaneous ideas be put to words, I get a bit jealous! I have three short stories I wish to write following my current, but thats it. Three. With the truly infinite possibilities of something to write about, I can’t conjure anything.

    However, I am inspired now by your post, and about the half way point in your novel. Congratulations, by the way.

    Thanks for the read!

  2. Kari Lynn M says:

    All described perfectly ♡♡♡

Leave a comment